The Mystery of Aad & Samood

When our second child was born, it was a girl. I asked my wife to suggest a name.

She said “I love the name ‘Asma’ the most but your brother has already named his daughter ‘Asma’. I love the name ‘Erum’ next.” I said “Erum is the city God destroyed according to Quran”.

She then suggested “Aasia” and I liked it. I said “That’s a beautiful name. It’s Greek and means ‘welcome’. Adam, a Jew born in Greece had named Turkey “Asia” because it welcomed Cain.”

I then looked up “Erum” in my wife’s book of Islamic names because I wondered why Pakistanis named their daughters after an evil city.

The book said it was of Persian origin and meant “garden(s)”!

I was shocked. I told my wife and she named our daughter “Aasia Erum”.

But I then understood the mystery of Aad & Samood who figure prominently in Quran but no scholar has ever been able to find their ruins, making it embarrassing for Muslims to believe in lies and things that don’t exist except in their minds.

Let’s see what Quran says,

ألم تر كيف فعل ربك بعاد؟ إرم ذات العماد؟ التي لم يخلق مثلها في البلاد‎.‎‏

English: have you not seen how your Lord did to Aad? The Gardens of Pillars, the likes of which have never been built in the world.

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon!.

They are one of the 7 wonders of ancient world, aren’t they?

And indeed, “Babylon” is considered the origin of magic (corruption of religion) and mother of all vice by Jews and Christians!

Just listen to BoneyM’s song, “Rivers of Babylon”.

But Quran mixes the destruction stories of Aad and Samood. They refer to the evil Islamic empires of Babylon and Assyria.

Quran also mentions a she-camel in Samood. Whenever you see an animal mentioned in Quran, it means “watch out”.

When our eldest brother, Abid, had his second daughter in 1997, he asked us for suggestions. My little sister suggested “Maha”, which means “Fawn”.

But I had strongly objected and after a while, everyone was convinced “Maha” was an evil name and she was named “Asma”, which is the plural of “name” but can also mean “nobler”.

In 2010, I once met a girl on Internet who asked people to give her a psychic reading and solve her problems. A guy cursed her for being named “Fawn” by her parents.

I gently tried to convince her that she was a survivor of childhood abuse and told her she needed to forgive her parents to succeed in life.

She denied any wrongdoing on the part of her parents. I then challenged her to succeed in life without my help. She cursed me and never again contacted me :).

After a while, I saw her profile on LinkedIn. She’d found a good job and was doing well.

That’s why I dislike bad names: they come true in your life!

God is hilarious, isn’t He?

The Mystery of Aad & Samood

Leave a Reply

